Artist Spotlight: Lilli O’Boyle

By Ben Levin

“Artist Spotlight” is a series that celebrates a handful of the artists within Fairleigh Dickinson University’s student population. The arts deserve more credit and celebration, and staff writer Ben Levin is glad to be doing his part. 

For this edition, Levin spoke with sophomore Lilli O’Boyle (she/they/he), who majors in graphic design. O’Boyle animates, paints and makes jewelry, among other things.

This interview has been edited for clarity.

Q: What got you interested in your crafts? 

A: I have been doing art since I was really little, because my mom is also an artist and she introduced art to me at a young age. It was something I always knew and it always made me happy. I kept exploring it and doing new things and the internet was definitely an influence in trying new things in art.

Q: What art does your mom do?

A: My mom is a graphic designer and painter, and she grew up doing a lot of painting and sketching. She took classes at the Massachusetts College of Art (and Design), where she learned to do animation and graphic design. Then she decided to move to New York to become a graphic designer and worked for HarperCollins until I was born.

After I was born, she spent time taking care of us and getting back into painting. She now works as a graphic designer for a church, and she also does painting. 

Q: What does she have to say about your art?

A: My mom really likes my art. I think she was nervous about me going into art at first because it’s a tough field to get a job in, but she knows my drive and skill and she’s really glad I picked up her field. She may sometimes wish I was a doctor, but she understands. Being an artist, I couldn’t see myself doing anything else. 

Q: What is your favorite thing you’ve made so far in your career and why? 

A: Ooh, that’s a tough question. One of the things that I’m most proud of is, when I was in high school, I took AP Art and we had to make a body of art (with) multiple pieces that went together. I’m proud of how they came out. I’m also starting a small business shop where I sell stickers online, and I just mailed out my first batch today and I’m pretty happy with that. 

Q: What are your stickers? 

A: Winter-themed stickers, since I love fish and I put some fish in scarves and some winter things like hot cocoa, (or) me in a scarf, and a cute girl in a wintery outfit. 

Q: How has going to Fairleigh Dickinson impacted your knowledge of or appreciation for your craft? 

A: I think I’ve definitely grown in appreciation for art since I came here. I think having a community of other artists has been really beneficial for my art and I think my love for art has grown since then, because sharing the passion feels good. 

Q: What do you do aside from your art?

A: More art. Otherwise, I play video games. I work at Starbucks, and I crochet, but that’s also art. Most of my hobbies are art, just different forms of art. I make jewelry. I draw. I crochet. I like reading and driving around exploring. I don’t know, it’s just kind of all art.

Q: What advice would you give to other artists of your field?

A: Don’t give up your passion. If you know what you want to do, just stick with it. Don’t let anyone or anything keep you from it, even if you don’t think it’s possible as a full-time job. Don’t let your passion fade away, totally keep it as a hobby. 

Courtesy of Lilli O’Boyle.
Courtesy of Lilli O’Boyle.
Courtesy of Lilli O’Boyle.