Artist Spotlight: Michael Stillman

By Ben Levin

“Artist Spotlight” is a series that celebrates the many artists within Fairleigh Dickinson University’s student population. The arts deserve more credit and celebration, and staff writer Ben Levin is glad to be doing his part. 

For this latest edition, Levin spoke with sophomore and graphic design major, Michael Stillman (he/him). Stillman works in both digital and traditional art, with a focus on concept art, poster design and character design.

This interview has been edited for clarity.

Q: What got you interested in your crafts?

A: Well, I suppose I started in middle school. In middle school I got a sense of my own style and what I do in terms of drawing and, once I reached this point, I always thought of pursuing art as a career.

Graphic design became something I’m super passionate about and I really wanted to show this to people around the world. That was when I got started. 

Q: What is your favorite thing you’ve made so far in your career and why? 

A: As I mentioned, I want to express my passion, but I also want to express passion in what my friends make and I love supporting other artists. I dedicated a project three years in the making, where I collabed with a lot of my friends to put our styles together into a big project. What I believe made this project so special to me was the opportunity to work with and support other talented people, as well as the opportunity to make my art grow and develop. 

Q: How has going to Fairleigh Dickinson impacted your knowledge of or appreciation for your craft? 

A: After high school, I didn’t really have any goals yet and no where to go. But after a year at Fairleigh Dickinson, I feel more confident in myself because I was able to meet so many amazing people and learn more about what it’s like living away from home. 

Q: What do you do aside from your art?

A: Other than art, I like to write creatively and, in my spare time, I like to listen to music, hang out with friends or maybe get some chores done like laundry. But no matter what, I always have art on my mind. 

Q: What advice would you give to other artists of your field?

A: As an underdog of the art industry, it’s never too late to pursue the things you love. 

Q: Is there anything else you want to share about your art? 

A: I myself have a long, mountain (of a) climb, and sure, there will be bumpy roads, but no matter what, I am still eager to learn and grow and become the best I can be at my craft. 

Courtesy of Michael Stillman
Courtesy of Michael Stillman
Courtesy of Michael Stillman